safewise logo
78 Sunny

Animal Control

Contact:
Harvey Barr
Animal Control Officer
Address:
180 Main Street
South Berwick, ME 03908
Phone:
384-2254

Title 7 is the section of Maine Law that is dedicated to animal welfare.
The most common complaints received by the Animal Control Officer (ACO) are loose dogs or cats, and barking dogs.

Section 3911 Dogs not to run at large.
Requires dogs be leashed. The Town of South Berwick also has an ordinance that allows the dog to be off leash while it is within the confines of its owner or keepers property. Once the dog leaves the property it is considered to be at large. Violation of this is decided by a judge at York District Court. It will be in the range of $25.00 to $100.00

Section 3921 License necessary.
The State of Maine requires all dogs that are six months of age and older be licensed. By requiring a license we are able to assure the public that a threat of rabies is kept under control. We can also save the owner or keeper from worrying about their dog if it should become lost. The ACO will reference the tag number to the owner and call them so they may become reunited. After January 1st but within ten (10) days the owner or keeper must license the dog. A current rabies (and if the dog has been spayed/neutered) certificate are needed to receive a license.

Violation of this is decided by a judge at York District Court. It will be in the range of $100.00

Section 3923B Tags.
Without a tag number the ACO will bring the dog to the shelter. This will become costly to the owner. The first time the Town will charge $25.00 and then you will have to pay the shelter charges. There is also a fine for not having a license tag and rabies tag on the dog. The second time the fee for the Town is doubled.

Violation of this is decided by a judge at York District Court. It will be in the range of $100.00

Section 4041 Animal trespass.
When the dog goes on the property of another person it is considered Animal Trespass.

Violation of this is decided by a judge at York District Court. It will be in the range of $500.00

Section 3961 Reimbursement for damage done by dogs.
While the animal is trespassing it causes damage, the owner or keeper of the animal is responsible for all the damage.

License Fees if re-licensed before January 1st:

  • Dogs and Wolf hybrids that are capable of producing young- $11.00
  • Dogs and Wolf hybrids that are not capable of producing young- $6.00

License fees after January 31st require a late fee of $25.00 in addition to the license.

If a dog is not licensed, the owner or keeper is subject to a summons which could result in a court appearance and a fine of $61.50