Maine Vehicle Registration
The Town of South Berwick participates in the State of Maine's online registration program for vehicles previously registered with the town. This program allows for 24/7 registration services for those that are unable to make it to the townhall to re-register their vehicles. Click here for more information.
Maine Out Of State Registration
The South Berwick Police Department wants to remind all residents of the town, that within 30 days of establishing residency from another state, you must obtain a Maine drivers license and Maine vehicle registrations. According to Title 29-A, Section 514 of the Maine Motor Vehicle Statutes, unless you meet one of the following three exemptions for your registration, you are
in violation of this law. A violation will result in a $911.00 fine, and your name being sent to the Maine State Tax Assessor for
further investigation. The three recognized exemptions are as follows:
- Active duty Military members with an out of state "Home of Record"
- Students attending an in-state college or university
- Company vehicles registered to an out-of-state business used for business purposes only.
Members of the community are encouraged to report potential violators to Officer Philip Moore of the South Berwick Police
Department at (207) 384-2254.
For other laws that you may have questions about, please go to: